Search
 
 

Display results as :
 


Rechercher Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Feed
addtomyyahoo4 Subscribe with BloglinesAdd to netvibes
Add to Google

Classical review

Go down

Classical review

Post by CH on Sat Jan 24, 2009 11:33 am

I am fascinated with classical music. Anyone know good classical review sites with playback on the net?

There are huge collections out there, could not possibly own even 20% of them. Financially exhausted!

CH
Regular
Regular

Number of posts : 75
Age : 50
Location : Petaling Jaya
Registration date : 2009-01-19

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by auronthas on Fri Jan 30, 2009 8:31 am

IMO, Classicfm is a good start, you can read their classical review and you can listen to its internet radio station.

If you have iTunes, go to radio, select classical genre, there are tons of classical internet radio stations.

Hope it helps.

Auronthas
avatar
auronthas
Moderator
Moderator

Number of posts : 208
Age : 46
Location : Malaysia
Registration date : 2009-01-19

Character sheet
Source(s):
Amplification:
Speakers:

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by tlchow811 on Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:41 pm

Hi
there's a website called classical.com which is really very good. It allows you to sample albums and also to free legal downloads of classical tracks when you're registered. Otherwise you can purchase albums or tracks.

tlchow811
New Member
New Member

Number of posts : 10
Age : 57
Location : kuala lumpur
Registration date : 2009-01-20

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by 2A3 on Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:39 am

Hi,

Normally I will listen to Amazon samples before decide to buy the CD.
You could visit my blog if you interested to know part of my classical collection:
http://classicalandjazz.blogspot.com/
Hope you enjoy in classical world.

best regards
cf
avatar
2A3
Regular
Regular

Number of posts : 62
Age : 43
Location : Penang
Registration date : 2009-03-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by bimmerman on Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:15 am

What happens when classical meets jazz? Well, I stumbled upon this pianist called Jacques Joissier and he plays Bach in jazz style. His take on Bach's Aria or better known as Air on a G String is simply fabulous. Not easy to find this 1960s recording though. Found mine on ebay.
avatar
bimmerman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 892
Age : 47
Location : KL
Registration date : 2009-04-27

Character sheet
Source(s): Mark Levinson
Amplification: KRELL
Speakers: Sonus Faber

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by 2A3 on Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:21 am

Hi, Bimmerman
http://classicalandjazz.blogspot.com/2010/11/jacques-loussier-play-bach-50th.html
This should be the latest Jacques Loussier's Bach album.
Did you try it?
avatar
2A3
Regular
Regular

Number of posts : 62
Age : 43
Location : Penang
Registration date : 2009-03-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by chua55 on Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:25 am

2A3,

how do you find Jean Sibelius works. like it ?

chua55
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 352
Age : 46
Location : cheras
Registration date : 2009-04-19

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by 2A3 on Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:10 pm

Hi, Chua55.

Yes, I like Sibelius works too.
I like his symphonies and violin concerto.
Besides Sibelius, I listen to Carl Nielsen too.

You listen to Sibelius?
avatar
2A3
Regular
Regular

Number of posts : 62
Age : 43
Location : Penang
Registration date : 2009-03-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by WongKK on Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:54 pm

bimmerman wrote:What happens when classical meets jazz? Well, I stumbled upon this pianist called Jacques Joissier and he plays Bach in jazz style. His take on Bach's Aria or better known as Air on a G String is simply fabulous. Not easy to find this 1960s recording though. Found mine on ebay.

You mean Jacques Loussier. Those recordings are quite easy to find, if you know where to look. Personally I prefer the traditional versions of those Bach pieces Smile
avatar
WongKK
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 149
Age : 46
Location : Melbourne, Australia
Registration date : 2010-11-25

Character sheet
Source(s): Playback Designs MPS-5, Micro-Seiki BL-99V
Amplification: Cary SLP-05, Cary CAD-211AE, SGR EL30S
Speakers: Acapella High Violon

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by bimmerman on Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:51 pm

Of course they're easy to find. You're in Melbourne! Razz

Man I don't know how I came to spell it that way. It's Jacques Loussier indeed. Thanks for pointing it out. Cheers!
avatar
bimmerman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 892
Age : 47
Location : KL
Registration date : 2009-04-27

Character sheet
Source(s): Mark Levinson
Amplification: KRELL
Speakers: Sonus Faber

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by bimmerman on Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:58 pm

2A3 wrote:Hi, Bimmerman
http://classicalandjazz.blogspot.com/2010/11/jacques-loussier-play-bach-50th.html
This should be the latest Jacques Loussier's Bach album.
Did you try it?

I have that one also but you can tell he's losing a little speed and focus in his later recordings.

This one I like best.

avatar
bimmerman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 892
Age : 47
Location : KL
Registration date : 2009-04-27

Character sheet
Source(s): Mark Levinson
Amplification: KRELL
Speakers: Sonus Faber

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by 2A3 on Mon Nov 29, 2010 3:45 pm

But according to JL himself, he likes the new recording most. : )
I plan to collect his Play Bach Vol 1 to 5 too.
avatar
2A3
Regular
Regular

Number of posts : 62
Age : 43
Location : Penang
Registration date : 2009-03-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by WongKK on Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:33 am

Hair on a G String? Is the G string is too tight? It really shouldn't be pulling out hairs! Shocked
avatar
WongKK
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 149
Age : 46
Location : Melbourne, Australia
Registration date : 2010-11-25

Character sheet
Source(s): Playback Designs MPS-5, Micro-Seiki BL-99V
Amplification: Cary SLP-05, Cary CAD-211AE, SGR EL30S
Speakers: Acapella High Violon

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by bimmerman on Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:46 am

WongKK wrote:Hair on a G String? Is the G string is too tight? It really shouldn't be pulling out hairs! Shocked

Gosh! Did I type hair on the G string??? Shocked No I did not you naughty naughty felly Razz It's Air on the G string as in "explosion between the legs" Razz
avatar
bimmerman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 892
Age : 47
Location : KL
Registration date : 2009-04-27

Character sheet
Source(s): Mark Levinson
Amplification: KRELL
Speakers: Sonus Faber

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by bimmerman on Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:51 am

2A3 wrote:But according to JL himself, he likes the new recording most. : )
I plan to collect his Play Bach Vol 1 to 5 too.

Dude, I wouldn't collect them all. After a while it gets a little boring. You may already know this but Loussier also does Claude Debussy, Mozart, Beethoven and many others. Among my favourites are Sadie. That Sadie Gymnopedie tune done in Jazz is date night stuff with the wifey. Check it out!
avatar
bimmerman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 892
Age : 47
Location : KL
Registration date : 2009-04-27

Character sheet
Source(s): Mark Levinson
Amplification: KRELL
Speakers: Sonus Faber

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by bimmerman on Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:52 am

There I go again getting messing up people's names. It's Satie not Sadie. Sorry.
avatar
bimmerman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 892
Age : 47
Location : KL
Registration date : 2009-04-27

Character sheet
Source(s): Mark Levinson
Amplification: KRELL
Speakers: Sonus Faber

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by tlkoo on Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:26 am

2A3 wrote:Hi, Chua55.

Yes, I like Sibelius works too.
I like his symphonies and violin concerto.
Besides Sibelius, I listen to Carl Nielsen too.

You listen to Sibelius?


i only had access to akiko suwanai's... http://www.amazon.com/Sibelius-Walton-Violin-Concertos-Hybrid/dp/B00008LOTT

tlkoo
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 332
Age : 47
Location : kuala lumpur
Registration date : 2009-05-04

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by tlkoo on Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:39 am

bimmerman wrote:There I go again getting messing up people's names. It's Satie not Sadie. Sorry.

not only you mate, i could almost recall no name neither title etc when it comes to classical stuff, not sure why? it's as tough as remembering the medical terminologies Mad

tlkoo
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 332
Age : 47
Location : kuala lumpur
Registration date : 2009-05-04

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by WongKK on Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:43 am

Are you a doctor, tlkoo? I'm a doc as well Smile
avatar
WongKK
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 149
Age : 46
Location : Melbourne, Australia
Registration date : 2010-11-25

Character sheet
Source(s): Playback Designs MPS-5, Micro-Seiki BL-99V
Amplification: Cary SLP-05, Cary CAD-211AE, SGR EL30S
Speakers: Acapella High Violon

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by WongKN on Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:44 am

For classical enjoyment, it helps if you have a clearly defined preference, like type of composition, and ideally even preferred composers and even conductors. There are probably more sites dedicated to classical fans than other genre. So you might also want to google for composers or conductors or performers. Sometimes even the composition itself. For e.g. Wilhelm Furtwangler on Beethoven. There are several sites dedicated to this alone.
avatar
WongKN
Moderator
Moderator

Number of posts : 1795
Age : 56
Location : Malaysia
Registration date : 2009-01-20

Character sheet
Source(s):
Amplification:
Speakers:

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by bimmerman on Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:50 am

Great advice from Wong KN as always. Any relation between WongKK and WongKN I wonder?

Anyway, If you're into Piano I'd recommend Vassili Primakov playing 21 Marzukas by Chopin. Great stuff!!
avatar
bimmerman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 892
Age : 47
Location : KL
Registration date : 2009-04-27

Character sheet
Source(s): Mark Levinson
Amplification: KRELL
Speakers: Sonus Faber

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by tlkoo on Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:01 pm

WongKK wrote:Are you a doctor, tlkoo? I'm a doc as well Smile


dr wong, i'm not in any professional practice Embarassed
only serious in music enjoyment eh!

tlkoo
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 332
Age : 47
Location : kuala lumpur
Registration date : 2009-05-04

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by WongKN on Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:06 pm

Nope, other than very similar userids, I don't know him nor I suspect he knows me. As they say, Wong, Lee, & Ho (I think, or is it Chan/Tan ?) are the three most popular/common surnames for chinese.
avatar
WongKN
Moderator
Moderator

Number of posts : 1795
Age : 56
Location : Malaysia
Registration date : 2009-01-20

Character sheet
Source(s):
Amplification:
Speakers:

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by WongKN on Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:13 pm

Anyway, just an example. I typed in Beethoven Symphony 9 reviews in google and got 237,000 hits and I simply scrolled 5 pages and almost all the links are to separate reviews on this. The number of conductors alone who have conducted for this piece is tremendous. And we have not yet counted the performers and the record labels, etc. Remember Beethoven also has Symphony No 5, 6 and 3 which are also very popular. Plus his 'Emperor Concerto' and lots of others. And this is Beethoven alone. Classical music, whether western or chinese or others is a huge treasure cove waiting for those willing to explore it to discover a joy for life. Smile
avatar
WongKN
Moderator
Moderator

Number of posts : 1795
Age : 56
Location : Malaysia
Registration date : 2009-01-20

Character sheet
Source(s):
Amplification:
Speakers:

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by bimmerman on Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:25 pm

WongKN wrote:Nope, other than very similar userids, I don't know him nor I suspect he knows me. As they say, Wong, Lee, & Ho (I think, or is it Chan/Tan ?) are the three most popular/common surnames for chinese.

Tell me about it. I'm another one of them Wongs myself.
avatar
bimmerman
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 892
Age : 47
Location : KL
Registration date : 2009-04-27

Character sheet
Source(s): Mark Levinson
Amplification: KRELL
Speakers: Sonus Faber

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by WongKK on Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:30 pm

Yeah, no relation between WongKN and me.

If we are going to start with Beethoven's works:
- Symphonies 3, 5, 6, 7, 9
- Piano Concertoes 3, 4, 5
- Violin Concerto
- Late Cello Sonatas (may be a bit hard going though)
- All the "named" Piano Sonatas (Moonlight, Appassionata, Pathetique, Waldstein, Les Adieux, Hammerklavier, Tempest) and the last four sonatas (28-32)
- Wellington's Victory

Deliberately did not include Missa Solemnis, Fidelio, or the piano trios. All of them are weak, IMO Smile I normally wouldn't include Symphony #6 either, because I hate it ... but many people seem to like it.
avatar
WongKK
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 149
Age : 46
Location : Melbourne, Australia
Registration date : 2010-11-25

Character sheet
Source(s): Playback Designs MPS-5, Micro-Seiki BL-99V
Amplification: Cary SLP-05, Cary CAD-211AE, SGR EL30S
Speakers: Acapella High Violon

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by tlkoo on Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:27 pm

WongKK wrote:Yeah, no relation between WongKN and me.

If we are going to start with Beethoven's works:
- Symphonies 3, 5, 6, 7, 9
- Piano Concertoes 3, 4, 5
- Violin Concerto
- Late Cello Sonatas (may be a bit hard going though)
- All the "named" Piano Sonatas (Moonlight, Appassionata, Pathetique, Waldstein, Les Adieux, Hammerklavier, Tempest) and the last four sonatas (28-32)
- Wellington's Victory

Deliberately did not include Missa Solemnis, Fidelio, or the piano trios. All of them are weak, IMO Smile I normally wouldn't include Symphony #6 either, because I hate it ... but many people seem to like it.

i like this Reiner, CSO- Beethoven Symph No. 7!!!

tlkoo
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 332
Age : 47
Location : kuala lumpur
Registration date : 2009-05-04

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by WongKN on Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:12 pm

Those of you who have been talking about the so-called hi-res digital tracks, have you bought anything from here -> https://www.hdtracks.com/index.php?set=1&page=2&file=9624albums ? Are they real-mccoy or re-sampled from CD format ? Any REAL hi-res files that are 'proper' or mainstream music instead of experimental type or those audiophile music played by amateur performers for audiophile listening only ?
avatar
WongKN
Moderator
Moderator

Number of posts : 1795
Age : 56
Location : Malaysia
Registration date : 2009-01-20

Character sheet
Source(s):
Amplification:
Speakers:

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by 2A3 on Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:17 pm

bimmerman wrote:
2A3 wrote:But according to JL himself, he likes the new recording most. : )
I plan to collect his Play Bach Vol 1 to 5 too.

Dude, I wouldn't collect them all. After a while it gets a little boring. You may already know this but Loussier also does Claude Debussy, Mozart, Beethoven and many others. Among my favourites are Sadie. That Sadie Gymnopedie tune done in Jazz is date night stuff with the wifey. Check it out!

Yes, agree with you, dude.
Erik Satie music is always good to enjoy at night time. : )
avatar
2A3
Regular
Regular

Number of posts : 62
Age : 43
Location : Penang
Registration date : 2009-03-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by 2A3 on Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:22 pm

tlkoo wrote:
2A3 wrote:Hi, Chua55.

Yes, I like Sibelius works too.
I like his symphonies and violin concerto.
Besides Sibelius, I listen to Carl Nielsen too.

You listen to Sibelius?


i only had access to akiko suwanai's... http://www.amazon.com/Sibelius-Walton-Violin-Concertos-Hybrid/dp/B00008LOTT

Sorry, Bro Koo.
The 3rd dose for you (after Heifetz's Brahms + Tcahikovsky & Heifetz's Beethoven + Mendelssohn) should be Heifetz's Sibelius + Prokofiev + Glazunov.

http://classicalandjazz.blogspot.com/search/label/Jascha%20Heifetz
avatar
2A3
Regular
Regular

Number of posts : 62
Age : 43
Location : Penang
Registration date : 2009-03-08

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by tlkoo on Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:23 pm

2A3 wrote:
bimmerman wrote:
2A3 wrote:But according to JL himself, he likes the new recording most. : )
I plan to collect his Play Bach Vol 1 to 5 too.

Dude, I wouldn't collect them all. After a while it gets a little boring. You may already know this but Loussier also does Claude Debussy, Mozart, Beethoven and many others. Among my favourites are Sadie. That Sadie Gymnopedie tune done in Jazz is date night stuff with the wifey. Check it out!

Yes, agree with you, dude.
Erik Satie music is always good to enjoy at night time. : )

yo bro, i still recall some beautiful piano pieces repeatedly played back in an artistic chinese movie titled "红玫瑰白玫“



tlkoo
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 332
Age : 47
Location : kuala lumpur
Registration date : 2009-05-04

Back to top Go down

Re: Classical review

Post by tlkoo on Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:08 am

2A3 wrote:
tlkoo wrote:
2A3 wrote:Hi, Chua55.

Yes, I like Sibelius works too.
I like his symphonies and violin concerto.
Besides Sibelius, I listen to Carl Nielsen too.

You listen to Sibelius?


i only had access to akiko suwanai's... http://www.amazon.com/Sibelius-Walton-Violin-Concertos-Hybrid/dp/B00008LOTT

Sorry, Bro Koo.
The 3rd dose for you (after Heifetz's Brahms + Tcahikovsky & Heifetz's Beethoven + Mendelssohn) should be Heifetz's Sibelius + Prokofiev + Glazunov.

http://classicalandjazz.blogspot.com/search/label/Jascha%20Heifetz

dose after dose, this what we call brother? hey... i have to sleep leh!



tlkoo
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 332
Age : 47
Location : kuala lumpur
Registration date : 2009-05-04

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum